How to Market a Book

The publishing industry is changing quickly, consequently, so are the methods of book marketing. Authors, whether traditionally or self-published, must learn to market their own books.
Ultimately, a successful author platform is all about showcasing an author’s individual personality and writing style through a combination of blogging and social media…try saying that in one breath!

I have read (too) many marketing books over the past few months in my quest to develop my author platform. I wanted a book that would show me exactly what I needed to do in order to become a social media superstar, a blogging expert, and a technical whizz!
Most of the books I read left me wanting to abandon the whole idea or fling my computer out the window, but that would have defeated the purpose, so I bravely soldiered on and kept reading and researching.

Copious cups of tea and too many chocolate bars later, I am happy to bring you my top 5 author platform building books, which I will be reviewing in detail during the coming weeks.

 



1. APE: Author, Publisher, Entrepreneur, by Guy Kawasaki and Sean Welch

2.  How To Market A Book, by Joanna Penn

3. Build Your Author Platform: The New Rules: A Literary Agent’s Guide to Growing Your Audience in 14 Steps, by Carole Jelen and Michael McAllister

4. Your First 1000 Copies: The Step-by-Step Guide to Marketing Your Book, by Tim Grahl

5. Book Marketing is Dead: Book Promotion Secrets You MUST Know BEFORE You Publish Your Book, by Derek Murphy

 

 

Leave a Reply

